DSS or not???

markc_61

Hello,

I'm new to this and I have my first property currently available and waiting a suitable tenant.

My Letting Agent asked if I would consider DSS applicants and I said I would have to look into it as I know a lot of Landlords won't Let to DSS Tenants. I can see the obvious drawbacks of someone who is relying on DSS to pay their rent. But I would appreciate some guidance as to the pitfalls of Letting out to DSS tenants.

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

I have just recently rented a property out to a single mum on dss.I was'nt originally going to go down but she responded to an advert.I met her and after getting a reference from her previous lanlord decided to go for it.

The housing benefit office will carry out a pre-determination on the house to tell you how much rent they will pay for this person to live there.Just make sure the rent is paid into your account and not the tenants.Hope this helps.Adam

Hi,

I, too, was not keen on DSS tenants when I first started to let property.

My experience has taught me, though, that single mothers are usually very reliable and take very good care of my property - as well as paying the rent on time. Tenants on incapacity benefit have also proven to be good, reliable and long term tenants !!

I now have a number of DSS tenants in my properties who are receiving "income support or incapacity benefit or both".

I think it is wise to judge each application on a case by case basis.

Mark

Thanks for your replies. You've both confirmed what I was thinking. Seems to me that provided your tenant doesn't abscond you are pretty sure of getting your rent (or most of it!) every month.

Thanks Mark

P.S. If I get a DSS Tenant and it proves a problem I'll let you all know!! :angry:

Hi,