Repossession

kanrent

The Governments proposed changes to the S21 are still at the consultation stage. No firm decisions have or will be made until all of the fact finding work has been completed. Any changes, which are likely to include revisions to S8 and the court process are not likely to be any time soon.

I’ve been letting since 1987 and it’s time to get out. Fed up with all the rules and regulations - as necessary as *some* of them are - it’s becoming more and more a pain in the ass being a landlord IMO. 

I’ve got an offer on one, and the others will be on the market soon. Time to hang up my landlord hat! 

Sorry, that didn’t answer your question. More of a mini rant! 

8 hours ago, Acura said:

I’ve been letting since 1987 and it’s time to get out. Fed up with all the rules and regulations - as necessary as *some* of them are - it’s becoming more and more a pain in the ass being a landlord IMO. 

I’ve got an offer on one, and the others will be on the market soon. Time to hang up my landlord hat! 

Sorry, that didn’t answer your question. More of a mini rant! 

I guess you are not alone with your thoughts Acura.  There are mixed messages on the reasons why landlords are quitting.

I have been landlording since 1990 plus property developing as I go along.  I have actually bought 2 rental properties in the past year. Was this a wise thing to do?  Who knows.  I have very good tenants in place and I am happy with everything right now.

I will always stick by my theory that investing in property long term will be a good decision in the long term.

I was told once way back in 1970 that "the value of property doubles every 10 years and the value of money halves".  Probably not too far from the truth imo.

Perhaps the "shake out" of landlords right now are some who entered the market to make quick money? 

I call them the "Dinner Party Landlord's".  :D