Anyone considered buying a repossessed property at auction with a AST who is late paying rent

jenny19

Hello Everyone

I'm new to this game and just wondered whether anyone has considered buying a property at auction that is repossessed where the tenant is behind on rent. If so does anyone have any tips on how to manage it. The property is quite a distance from my home so I would instantly appoint a letting agent. My view is that as I would only be entitled to the rent going forward all I have to do is instruct the lettings agent to set up new payment instructions for the months going forward.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I see no reason why you cannot claim the arrears outstanding from the grant of the tenancy as the same follows the reversionary interest in the lease. When you say you have a tenant in place under an AST are you sure, I have seen these before where properties have been sold at auction as AST's when in fact its a tenant holding over on a long lease i.e a full assured tenancy.

My view is .............. all I have to do is instruct the lettings agent to set up new payment instructions for the months going forward.

If only it was as easy as that.

What makes you think that the tenant is going to pay YOU when he isn't paying the current landlord ?