Letting Agents

louguidery

Hi,

As a brand new landlord I've already experienced the best and worst of letting agents! Have just successfully let with a major chain (Martin and Co) whose properietor filled with me confidence and let my first and expensively and lovingly rstored property within 24hrs to a suitable tenant. Seconf property has been signed up fro 4 week run with the estate agent who sold it to me and is putting me under pressure to accept dhss applicants et al. also in their blurb they say they sign all legal documents on my behalf! Is that allowed? I certainly don't want them to! and can I insist that and prospective tenants take out tenant liability cover under the terms of the tenancy? Any advice gratefully appreciated! Thanks

As an agent I can say it is a normal practice for an agent to sign a tenancy agreement on behalf of the client (landlord) But if a LL wanted to sign them self I wouldn't have a problem with it.

Also as someone who rents out to Housing benefit tenants I know a little bit of pros and cons. It isn't for everyone and a lot of landlords AND AGENTS get it wrong but I have many many successful tenancies where the rent is paid by the council.

First off I would make it clear to the agent IN WRITING that no tenancy to be granted until your approval as it is not unheard of for some agents to sign up tenants willy nilly.

If you wish to consider HB tenants steer clear of single men, under 35's. Make sure they have a checkable rental history, have their own cash deposit (not council bond) and can supply a home owning guarantor. It is also possible to get RGI on HB tenants nowadays. You will get a higher wear and tear (not always).

Also make sure the monthly rent is within the limits for what your council pay for the size of the property because if it is more you will find it very very hard to get the tenant to pay the shortfall because they will not have the funds.

https://lha-direct.v....uk/search.aspx