Million Dollar question

Grampa

What your best bet on what the mortgage rates will be doing in 2/5 years.

Unfortunately I have a BTL mortgage that needs renewing and 9/12 months ago I could have saved £80/100 pcm with the better 5 yr fixed rates available then but I  was still in a fixed term. Now it looks like  an extra 1% on top of what I'm paying now. 

In hindsight I should have looked into the penalty to surrender 12 months early and renew then. Doh. 

I didn't realise I would be penalised on remortgage in 2008. It was heavy, and if I bad waited e few months would have passed it. Super doh.

My guess is that in 3 years we will be at approx 4 - 4.5% base. Beyond is too much for my crystal ball, and in truth I feel a new world order may be looming. But I am a witch / landlord so feel free to come to my hanging.

I'm no expert but I would say CoR is about right.

Look at all the bad news at the moment......Ukraine, cost of living, energy bills, inflation, strikes/wage claims etc. There is a GE in 2 years......whoever wins the leadership contest ain't gonna get all that fixed by then. Some of those issues are linked & they are still going to be with us in 5+ years.

I think interest rates are on a slow steady upward spiral. Great news if you have savings, not so great if you have loans to pay......so ......

1. I wouldn't be looking to put money into any fixed interest savings account.

2. If I was taking out a loan/ remortgage and could get a good fixed rate, I'd choose that over a variable.

Note of caution......the Bank of England meet every month to decide on interest rates....next meeting is on August 5th.  With inflation currently at 9% and rising and the Gov' determined to get inflation under control, word on the street is that base rates could rise by 0.5% or more. If I were looking to remortgage I might be inclined to do it NOW rather than delay.