Turning homes into smarthomes

CP87

Hi all.

A little bit about myself, my name is Cameron and I'm new to this but I'm hoping to be a regular contributor to this forum. So, as for my first contribution, here is a great article I came across. It's 5 ways to turn your home into a smarthome, without spending a fortune... What do you guys think? And are there any genius inventions/innovations that any of you have had experience with that you think transforms your home into a smart home? Also, do you think this kind of stuff is a bit futuristic or does it have a place amongst common households?

Article Link: http://iq.intel.co.uk/5-ways-to-turn-your-home-into-a-smarthome-without-spending-a-fortune/

Personally I just don't see any of those products finding there way into my homes any time soon.

There has to be either a financial or functional incentive and there just aren't any.

I'm left with the same impression I get when I look at some of the colour brochures included in weekend newspapers. They are also trying to sell me stuff I really don't need.

Perhaps designers should start with a 'wants' list as the car industry does.....instead of trying to redesign perfectly good devices. Top of my wants list would be battery devices that 1. last more than 3/4 years and 2. rechargeable batteries that are cheaper to replace.

Me too. I was interested in this.............

"By replacing your existing receiver box and wireless thermostat, these systems give you the ability to set and control your home’s heating over the Internet".

Nothing but trouble and I can go as far to say that we had one customer ask to have it removed and to go back to a simple wired rotating dial mechanical thermostat.

If anyone would like to buy it off me I have it here sitting in a box. :D