New Landlord advice

hushpuppy7

Dear all,

I am a newbie so hello!

May I ask if there is a 'must do/need to know' guide written by one of you experienced LL for a newbie please?

I must apologise if this has already been answered, but I honestly have searched the site in case it has and can't find one!

To add, my first property will be a 2 bed new build, with a garden and garage, but unfurnished and I am looking to employ a LA to start off with.

Thanks

I have a few lists that work for me (there are two shown below) but its really down to personal circumstances & experiences.

The points below will form the basis of a good start.

CHECKLIST for LANDLORDS

The most important thing that any potential landlord can do is choose their tenants very very carefully.

1. Get Referencies.....bank, employer and previous landlord.
2. Take out rent guarantee insurance.....its not expensive.
3. Get a home owning guarantor. Carry out reference checks on the guarantor. Give the guarantor a copy of the AST. Make sure the guarantor document is drawn up as a deed.
4. Don't let to people with pets or children......the risk of them giving you problems are big.

5. Don’t let to anyone under 18 (minors). Draw up your own limits….I prefer nobody under 25.
6. Don't let to smokers........you won't get rid of the smell.

7. Don’t do Company lets.

8. Don’t let to anyone on Housing Benefits.

8a. If you do choose to let to applicants on Housing Benefit CHECK that your mortgage & freeholder (if your property is leasehold) allows it.

9. Don't let to anyone who isn't working full time.
10. Inspect properties every 3 months.
11. Only let initially on a 6 month AST.....that way you can both part company after 6 months if you don't get on.
12. Use a reputable Lettings Agent OR one who has been recommended OR do it yourself (only if you know what to do).
13. Meet your tenants personally. Make sure you ask all the right questions and gauge whether they are right for you.