Agent exit fees - am i being lied to?

crustypaul

I have been letting a flat via the same letting agent for nearly 8 years now. The current tenant has been in residence for nearly 4 of those years and neither i nor the agents have ever had a problem with her. Her current tenancy agreement comes to the end in just over a months time and she has expressed an interest in buying the property. I have agreed to this and we have set the wheels in motion.

She has given her notice to the letting agent and i contacted them to tell them i would be selling the property, only to discover that they are going to try and charge me a £1000 exit fee! The have also told the tenant that if the sale isn't completed by the time her current tenancy agreement ends, then she will be obliged to sign another 2 year agreement with them.

This is plainly absolutely ridiculous! As far as i am aware, if i chose to stop using a letting agent and sell the property while a tenant has a current tenancy agreement, then the agent is entitled to charge me an exit fee, but if if i inform the agent that i will be selling the property as soon as the current tenancy has expired, i don't understand how they can charge me an exit fee as there will not be any current tenancy once it expires normally.

Possibly i'm misunderstanding this, but it seems to me that the agency are lying to the tenant in an attempt to make her sign up for a new 2 year tenancy agreement, at which point they will come to me with the signed agreement and try to charge me a £1000 exit fee. Either that or they are trying to get as much money as possible from me while they still can by charging me the exit fee as it would be payable on the current situation i.e. with a standing tenancy, and carefully failing to mention that once the tenancy ends the exit fee won't be payable.

Can anyone comment on the legality of this situation, or even if this appears at all reasonable?

Thanks in advance for any advice...........