Ring fencing property portfolio holdings

Gecko

Greetings, newbie here with 1st question of no doubt many more to come in future.... ;)

I'm just getting started in this game and wonder what the consensus is on ring fencing the properties in my eventual portfolio? What I mean is I'd like to know if it is strictly necessary or desireable to create a company to own the rental properties or just acquire them in my own name and manage them as a sole trader?

The accountant I spoke to suggested it isn't necessary to have the properties in company ownership until it gets large enough to make the cost of administering the company viable. Of course having a company has some VAT and possible tax advantages so I would be interested what the consensus of opinion is on this.

Company or Private?

Private.

You will not be big enough to form a Limited Company and VAT reclaim has more disadvantages than advantages for any small business you are thinking of forming. Stay as a sole trader and claim the tax allowances on offer from HMRC.

Thanks for the feedback folks. 1st property is in the pipeline and I'm itching to get on with it. Surveyor is going in on monday and an offer has been accepted of £54k from the receivers handling this one. A similar flat in the same block is on the market at £89k so with a bit of a refurb I hope to be looking at getting this rented out and having the 1st foot on the ladder.

Looking forward to picking your combined brains over the coming weeks!

Hopefully not coming across as pessimistic but,

the actual sale value is a much better indication of value than asking price. Looking at land registry recorded prices of those previously sold is what a surveyor will be looking at. Then there are some adjustments for when sold and condition comparison.

I always estimated to the high side for renovation cost.

Good luck.

plus.....

* have you checked the length of the lease ?

* the sevice charges & how they are administered ?