Does Any Landlord Have a Rental Property in South Wales?

Melboy

Like most investors they have seen their savings interest collapse to near zero so they are therefore looking for other places to invest their cash and that includes me.

Buying in my location has become a lot more expensive now as M25 investors have flooded in and have bought up a lot of the cheaper end property as to them it is regarded as a very cheap deal and with only an hours drive down the M4 they obviously think it is worth it.

So it brings me onto my topic title.

I have been looking at the property in South Wales for several months now and to the outsider it does appear to be a lot cheaper and much more viable and only an hours drive for me get across the Severn Bridge and into most area's of South Wales.

Anyone care to comment?

Mel.

PS My new 21st Century boiler installation is the Dog's Doo-Dahs. :D Nearly finished!

I have no experience of renting in South Wales but the overall impression I have is that whilst property prices in Wales are generally cheap compared to other areas :-

* It is predominantly a low income area.

* Finding good quality tenants can be difficult.

* Unemployment is high & benefits tenants are in the majority.

* Rents are low.

* There can be lots more problems than other areas.

* Investing in the lower end of the market usually means poor capital appreciation.

Buying property even an hour away will soon irritate if you have to travel there every week to sort out problems.

Buying property anywhere with a good yield only really makes sense if everything else stacks up...ie.....likely price rises (as opposed to price falls), good rents, easy letting, few problems, minimal voids etc. South Wales doesn't tick any of these boxes for me.

No doubt an irrate taff will be along shortly to shoot my comments to shreads...... :rolleyes:

Yes!