Returning tenant's deposit

Rimmer

Hello

Newbie here. This is my situation.

I took on a tenant mid February and he signed a six month AST and gave a deposit of one month's rent.

He was made redundant in late March (partly I gather through his own making) and told me he wanted to leave asap. The tenancy states that after three months we can agree that he can get in a new tenant to take over the tenancy. It was only six weeks, but I didn't want any voids so agreed that he can try and get someone new in. At no point did I say that he has escaped the liabilities in his lease After a few days, I realised that I could do a better job of finding someone and have now found someone to move in in a week's time, provided a good reference comes through.

I stupidly did not put the deposit in a protection scheme, and am considering doing it right now in case this becomes an issue.

The tenancy states that I can withhold reasonable compensation for breach of contract.

What of the original tenant's deposit is it reasonable to withhold? I am out of pocket for the money and time I put in chasing around trying to find a new tenant and the whole thing has caused me lots of stress. He has clearly breached the contract massively.

Thanks

Any material loss such as advertising. But if you up-set him he may take you to court for not protecting the deposit. If it hasnt cost too much I would return the deposit in full and move on. He could still take you to court for x3 the deposit but there may be less chance if you return it in full.

Thanks. I'm reading up on the case law on this. It appeared as though it was a good defense for a landlord to make sure the deposit was protected up to the day of the hearing, but that appears to be less so now since reforms last May. This is a bit worrying...

Does anyone know of recent cases regarding this within the last year?

You are out of date the law plus case law has changed since the Localism Act 2011.