slippery decking question

nora newbie

hi everyone. I am a complete beginner here and am just getting house sorted through a managed letting agent and potential clients will soon be viewing.

However I have a question regarding decking.

Immediately outside the patio door is an area of wooden decking. It looked like it hadnt been cleaned for ages so I have cleaned it all and re stained it etc. However due to the nature of decking if this isnt done regularly the decking does become slippery- at home I do mine once a year.

Is it possible that someone could rent the house, go out there, fall over and break a leg and make a claim against me. Is this something that should be put in the tennancy agreement? or am i taking things too far?

I too have a patio decking in a rented property which becomes lethal in the Winter and of course requires pressure washing and treating every 2 years at least.

I have a specific clause which states that the decking must be cleaned and treated by the landlord every 2 years and that no responsibility is accepted in the event of any tenant slipping on the decking in adverse weather conditions.

I advise ALL my tenants to have their own contents and personal injury insurance in place to cover for any accidents beyond the landlords day-to-day control.

Of course all of the above might be total cods wallop in a legal sense but the fact is the tenant has to prove that the "duty of care law" was not being applied when they injured themselves. Any other private householder would have to be careful with slippery decking as should any tenant imo.

If it all goes wrong for me then my insurance cover and legal cover would have to deal with it.

Our very own resident legal-eagle LAW will probably provide the professional answer to your question. :D

I would make sure I pointed out a problem with the decking to tenants verbally and in writing saying you recommend cleaning every 4 months to avoid accidents.