total newbie

wrighty72

Hi folks i'm looking at buying a 2 bed apartment in Warrington for approx 85K it should achieve 550 PCM if not a little bit more. Now i'm brand new to all of this and unsure on a number of things, i dont expect anyone to be able to answer all of these qustions for me but any advice/words of wisdom will be appreciated.

First decison is whether to go interest only take some profit each month and deal wirh renting it out myself or go repayment and pay an agent to manage it totally for me, it would be nice to have the extra income each month on option 1 although i know i will pay tax on it but option 2 means less tax (less profit as well) but hopefully less hassle and possibly a paid for apartment in X amount of years. I appreciate i could go interest only and pay an agent to manage and have a little money now i guess its down to which i want now.....

Secondly insurance, if its an apartment with a service charge i'm assuming (possibly incorrectly) that buildings insurance is covered by the management co but i will need some sort of landlords insurance for the interior of the apartment ie accidental damage etc?

thats it for now

thanks in advance

The rental looks good for the value, have you factored in the initial outlays and overheads.

On the insurance my preference is to let unfurnished and contractually cause the T's to be responsible for contents insurance.

Tother stuff is personal choice.

Warrington.....isn't that the place that they make Wodka ?

Wether its a good yield depends on how near to £85K you end up paying and how acurate the estimated £550 pcm turns out to be. Obviously paying £90K and getting £495pcm paints a different colour.

Are you aware that you can only offset the mortgage interest charges against tax and not any capital repayment element of the loan?

Service charges normally include buildings insurance.