Rising rent unreasonable?

r0bert

Dear Landlords,

I would highly appreciate your views on my situation and I apologize in advance for this question being from a tenant's perspective.

I am a professional who has lived in UK for 6 years. I have had 4 previous tenancies (due to job location changes) and I have not had any problems with landlords whatsoever - until now. In fact my previous landlord said I had been an excellent tenant when time came for me to leave the property.

Current situation is I signed a 6 months agreement for Assured Shorthold Tenancy in June. Rent is just above thousand a month with me paying all normal bills. There was oral agreement that we would continue the contract and I was told the rent would not go up. Two weeks back I received a letter telling me to sign new fixed tenancy with rent increase of 100 £ per month or the tenancy ends and they would expect me to vacate the property. This 10% monthly rent increase all of a sudden feels a bit steep to me. Particularly because the service I have had has not been very impressive. I replied outlining the costs that I have had when moving in and saying the rent increase was higher than I would expect and asked if they would be happy with a 2.5% increase in this first year. I also proposed to discuss this over a cup of tea to see if we can come to something reasonable. Well, the same day I got a brief letter saying that after much thought they have decided not to renew the AST agreement and the tenancy ends in December...

* Landlord's expenses: