Electrical check

kanrent

Hi I had a complete rewire done on my property including a new fuse box and smoke alarms electrician said I don't need a check for 10 years because of the new fuse box

But now new tenants are moving in and a new AST will be provided would I now need a new electrical check

Appreciate any advice

I am not an electrician only a poor, starving landlord.

* Presumably your installation included all the necessary certification which you will need when you eventually sell the property ?

* There is no legal requirement for regular electrical checks on rental property unless it's an HMO. However, landlords are required to ensure the electrical system is safe. Different people achieve this in different ways. You can get it checked by a qualified electrician or anyone else who is capable of checking the system appropriately. The confusion often arises because lettings agents insist on an electrical safety certificate before they will accept the property on their books.

* I make a point of checking my own properties once per year which includes the following :-

* Check that all trips in the main consumer unit operate as required.

* Check any fuses, including those in any appliances, are the correct rating.

* Carry out visual inspection of switch plates, sockets & wiring for cracks, splits, fraying, cuts  and other damage....replace as necessary.

* Check all 13 amp sockets with plug terster.

* Check all smoke alarms, co alarms, water heaters operate ok.

* Keep a written record of what was checked, the date and any repairs carried out.

That's it.

Short answer is Yes. Changing a consumer unit and a rewire does not give you a Certificate.  It should give you an electrically safe property but ALL circuits have to be tested and recorded onto that certificate. Many fully qualified electricians do not have the correct equipment to test circuits and issue certificates to landlords would you believe.