Upgrade to Gas Central Heating?

bdh198

I have a first floor one bedroom flat that I've been letting out for five years. When I acquired the flat I had the gas capped off and installed an electric boiler and electric wall hung radiators. This is because it was a cheap option and avoided the need to get an annual gas safety certificate (main reason was the cost).

However, my boiler has now had a problem which cannot be repaired and it needs to be replaced. My gas certified plumber can put in a like for like replacement for around £500, or an upgrade for £1,200. He has also suggested considering reinstalling the gas and putting in a small combi boiler and new pipe work to replace the electric heaters with centrally heated ones. The cost of this will be in the region of £2,500.

My questions is, is the reinstallation of gas central heating something worth considering? It's considerably more expensive to reinstall gas and I'm debating the cost/long term benefit of it.

I would be extremely grateful for any views any other landlords have. Would gas installation really encourage a higher rent (currently £550pcm)? There is no problem finding tenants in the area. When advertising for tenants recently, one day of viewing resulted in four immediate offers at full asking price. Also, if I came to sell in the future, does gas central heating play a significant part in the considerations of first time buyers/landlords (as they are the likely groups to be looking at such a property)? Would it increase property value, or just make a sale slightly more likely?

Any views appreciated.

Ok here is my twopennies worth..

* Generally gas heating will not achieve a higher rent. Obviously there are exceptions but in most cases you will not recover the money through higher rents.

* If or when you eventually sell the property then gas heating may command a slightly higher asking price but will likely just be easier/ quicker to sell..