LA issued abandonment notice 7 days ago to my tenant as communication had dried up. Tenant chirps up 1 day after the 6 month AST break clause to say due to ill health they have moved back to parents. Tenant is two months in arrears.

LA has given us three options:

1. Agree to end the tenancy immediately and look for new tenants to commence a tenancy asap.

2     2. Commence the rent and legal protection (RLP) claim and pursue the tenants for the arrears and hold them to the contract.

3      3.Agree an early release process with the tenants where a new tenant will take over. Outgoing tenant will also be liable for your set up cost for the new tenancy to commence (this will be pre-agreed with the current tenants)    I have

I have no experience of  RLP insurance albeit im paying £16 pm for it. I have taken the option 3 route before but never only when the rent was up to date. 

Appreciate if there is anyone who seen this before and has a feel for the best way forward.

Option 1 & 2 for me as well.     As Mortitia has stated you need a signed "Deed of Surrender" by the tenant.  Chase your tenant guarantor for lost rent payment an option?

I know this doesn't provide you with a solution to your problem at the moment, but in future I would advise using an online letting agency. I used LetMe, where they pay Landlords 12 months rent upfront, then they receive the money off the tenants. They also cover any rent arrears from the tenants and there are no deposits or fee's to pay. This would prevent you from having a problem like you have had in the future as you would have already received all the rent in one large sum when the tenants move in. 

Gregsmith,

There are a lot of people in the private rental sector who, like you, focus on rental income. My experience as a landlord has taught me that should be way down a landlords list of priorities when letting a property.