Need advice on short-let options for a travelling consultant

Dmitry1

Hi all,

I would really appreciate with your piece of adivce on the following: I work as a consultant and so I travel every two weeks every month. My 1 bedroom apartment (which I own) is close Waterloo. I was thinking of short-letting the apartment for the 2 weeks that I am away, but I don't know where to place the advertsiment (airbnb?) and secondly I can't physically be present to let someone in/out.

Could anyone share his or her insights if you had been in the same situation?

Many many thanks in advance!

1. If you have a mortgage on the property you should let the lender know.

2. If it's leasehold check if the freeholder requires you to obtain their permission to let.

3. Check your buildings & contents insurance to ensure you remain covered if letting.

4. Your mortgage lender will tell you how they will permit you to let.

5. You shouldn't let on a normal assured shorthand tenancy as you won't be able to regain possession for 6 months irrespective of any shorter contract.

6. Other than a holiday let I'm not sure how else you could do it for such a short term......lenders, freeholders & insurers will all likely not permit holiday let's.

In any case think about council tax, gas, electric, water, telephone usage/ consumptio etc.

I don't think your plan is a go'er.

I agree with RL.

You could be in for a whole load of problems on what your planning to do. Personally I would forget it as it could get very complicated and expensive for you if your 2 week let turns into an expensive eviction court case

You could do this as a holiday let but I think the fees would make it not worthwhile with the added risk of temp tenants not vacating or damage and dirt causing problems.