Tax Relief to End On Buy To Let Mortgages?

Melboy

Personally I have been expecting this to happen for the last 10 years now. I do have a feeling that the scrapping of tax relief will come very soon now.

The article in the Daily Fail mainly covers the relevant facts of the for and against reasons.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/money/buytolet/article-3128563/SIMON-LAMBERT-buy-let-lose-mortgage-tax-break.html

Absolute bull-######...never gonna happen.

All actions have corresponding consequences and this will at the least lead to:

1. Rents significantly increasing.

2. Fewer landlords, fewer properties available.

3. Absolute anarchy.

The Gov' may be/ have been thinking about doing this in the same way as they are probably looking at 100 other ideas to raise income, cut the deficit and balance the books. When they look at the likely consequences to the housing industry it will be dropped like a hot potato.

Those words could come back and bite you on the bum RL :D

Never say never.

I can remember the same response way back in the 1980s when it was stated that scrapping the mortgage tax relief on domestic mortgages would be be a big vote loser to any political party and it wasn't going to happen..... and guess what it did happen.

There were mutterings and condemnations but this was quickly forgotten as the years passed.

Mortgage interest relief at source, or MIRAS, was a scheme introduced in the United Kingdom by Chancellor of the Exchequer Roy Jenkins in 1969 in a bid to encourage home ownership; it allowed borrowers tax relief for interest payments on their mortgage.