Landlord ending contract with letting agent

BonnieBubbles

Hi all

I'm not sure if I'm writing this post in the correct forum but from the posts I've read so far everyone seems pretty clued up so any advice is really appreciated!

I am a mature student and moved into a rented two bed property with a friend on 1/7/14. The house was left in a complete state by the previous tenants and required lots of work and repairs as well as a deep clean. Long story short, many of the repairs have been taken care of by the letting agent (although everyday we seem to keep finding another two or three!) and after the agent sent in 3 taxi drivers acting as cleaners (who should have stuck to their day jobs as what they did could not be even be called cleaning), my friend and myself have turned the whole house upside down ourselves with every cleaning product under the sun, the house is now near sparkling. The house was in perfect condition when we viewed it at the end of January 2014 otherwise there is no way we would have signed up for it.

Today we met our landlord for the first time and claimed that he had no idea that the agents had rented the house to us. However I am not sure how true this is as we have had the contract signed for six months before we moved in. He explained that he was planning to visit the house after the old tenants moved out to take care of any jobs that needed doing.

He was very upset that the agent had spent so much money on all the repairs and replacing items in the house and again claimed that he was unaware they were spending money without his knowing. As far as I know the agents manage the house for him so doesn't that mean that they have the right to purchase and carry out necessary actions?

He explained that he was so upset with the letting agents that he was considering selling the property while we are still occupying it which may mean we would have to leave. Can he do this?