Privacy/proof issue re. council tax and departing lodger

katejo11

I have been renting a room out over the past few years. My current lodger is about to move out so I contacted my local council tax office to reinstate my single person discount until I find a new lodger next year. In the past this wasn't a problem. Now the council has rejected my application unless I provide the full forwarding address of my departing lodger as a 'proof' that I am a solo resident.

I have pointed out the following

1. This is no proof that I haven't found a new lodger (ignored by the council)

2. This is an invasion of privacy. The council has admitted that they intend to contact his new local council to check that he really lives there. If i give a wrong address, I will not get my discount back.

3. His duty to register with the new council is none of my business and not my responsibility. It would not be ethical on my part to provide the address without my lodger's permission.

I have pointed out that new residents who move into the borough simply have to sign a form to confirm that they are solo residents but I am not allowed to do this.

My lodger has agreed to provide his address but he shouldn't have to

Has anyone else had this? I am in Waltham Forest.

I really don't see why you have a problem.....

1. You want the discount.

2. You can provide your lodgers forwarding address.

3. Complying with the requirements gives everyone, including you, what they want.

If I lived in Waltham Forest I would also want my local council to carry out these checks to ensure the system wasn't being fiddled by unscrupulous landlords. Unfortunately the rest of the council tax payers have to make up any shortfall.

I suggest you grow up and comply with their request.

Local Councils have really tightened up on Council Tax in the last 2 years.