Newbie Landord - some DHSS questions

MarkJ

Greetings All

I'm new to this game so please bear with me.

Some background first;

I've been looking to buy a BTL for a while. Then, unfortunately, my sister split up with her (w@nker of a) husband, so needed somewhere to move into. Being a nice brother I decided that (against my better judgement) I'd buy a house to let to her (known tenant, 'guaranteed' rent, won't trash the place etc etc). To complicate matters she's going to be on the dole and thus getting (at least some of) her rent paid by the DHSS.

OK, so that's where we are. I know that there'll be those of you out there who say I'm mad doing this but hey....

Anyway, the council have now said that they want to visit her, with me in attendance. I'm led to believe that this is to check that it's all above board and legal (which it is), and for them to approve her rent payments.

Has anyone been in this situation? Any ideas as to what else they'd be looking for? Anything I should be wary of in terms of questions they might ask etc?

Any advice or guidance appreciated....

Mark

I think you may have trouble with doing that as you're family, they may say they will only pay if she has nowhere to live, i.e. she has been evicted by you. However, it does depend on the council as one of my friends' sister lives at her mums flat and her mum gets money from the DHSS.

However, another consideration, does your mortgage company allow DHSS tenants? Nearly all don't. Also I beleive that most don't allow tenants to be family. All of this won't be a problem until you either sign up to an extended deal or remortgage (as they will need all the legal documents), something to bear in mind though!

Good luck!

Hi

I rent to two of my children one of whom is employed and the other currently claiming benefits.

I had to send a copy of the tenancy agreement to the Benefits Agency and also received a telephone call from them, to check that everything was above board.