Is the current lettings agents paradigm still relevant?

nickthestudent

Hi,

I am an MBA student at Imperial College Business School in London and am doing an in depth study of the current lettings market in England. Having been a tenant for a number of years throughout England my current hypothesis is simply that the current lettings agent model is out of date and no longer meets the needs of renters or landlords. This is especially true given the recent advances in technology, which are not being utilised to ensure a smoother experience for all. I would be interested in the views of this forum on this topic.

Thank you.

Nick

Most people are in business to make money.

A section of the population need to rent homes from landlords - not all using letting agents.

Apart from a phone, pc of some sort and a printer what else could we need?

I want to know what type of modern technology will get bad tenants to pay rent, remove them from the property when they don't then repair the trashed property ready for a new let?

Have I missed the point?

"....my current hypothesis is simply that the current lettings agent model is out of date and no longer meets the needs of renters or landlords."

If you could expand how and why you come to this negative looking hypothesis you might get some useful feedback from this forum.

Meantime I concur with Mortitia.

"....my current hypothesis is simply that the current lettings agent model is out of date and no longer meets the needs of renters or landlords."

I agree with previous replies. You need to come up with some answers to that hypothesis you are stating.,

Well I certainly think the OP is on the right track.

I think every tenant should have.....(but often has absolutely no idea ) :-

* a thorough understanding of what getting a CCJ really means.

* what legal committment they make when they sign tenancy documents.

* a good understanding of the term ' clean & tidy'

and I think agents need to :