Help needed - nuisance tenant.

earthwormgrim

Hi there,

Would like some advice from yourselves.. particularly those with some experience or knowledge of law.

I am an acting agent for an overseas landlord, and have been letting his flat out for him with his permission. He is mainly "hands off", and would like to stay that way.

I let the flat out to a tenant who worked as a solicitor and appeared to be a reasonable person.

He said he did not feel that the paperwork provided was adequate and proceeded to write his own receipt for holding deposit.

In this handwritten receipt, he wrote a few things that he wanted sorting out, and that the rent would be 300pw until these were done to his satisfaction.

He was in a hurry to move in, so moved his things in before a tenancy agreement was signed. Once he moved in, he did not accept our agreement, and wanted to use his own AST modified by himself -and which did not contain acceptable terms which we disagreed with.

He has refused to sign any other paperwork and has refused to move. As he paid the rent, we let him stay. Unfortunately he has been a very difficult tenant.

When his toilet/plumbing was leaking, and needed to be fixed, it took many weeks before he allowed access to the plumbing company and several different plumbers were contacted many times as they got tired of him changing appointments multiple times. Although this issue was finally sorted out by the building insurance, he decided to give himself a discount on the rent, which had not been agreed on.

Looking back on the records, he started to pay on a weekly basic a reduced sum of 285 since november 2012 on a weekly basis, sometimes missing out rental payments in between.

e.g.

2 nov 570

16 nov 285

30 nov 285

11dec 285

18 dec 285

27 dec 285

07 jan 285

28 jan 285

25 feb 285

6 mar 285

20 march 285

Bearing in mind he is a solicitor, and is always strong headed and is difficult to get hold of, what should our next step be?

Issues:-