deposit and section 21

jan1

Hi Everyone,

I have just become a member and need your help. for the first time ever i let a house out last may (2011) with a 12 mth agreement, but as i have never done anything like this before i did not know i had to protect the deposit. i only found out this june (after agreement went over to a periodic one. I then protected it but i have since fell out with the tenant, who is forever late with the rent and pays what she wants when she wants. My health has changed and i decided to ask an agent to take over the running of the house and wrote the tenant a letter. i received a threatening text back telling me i have broken housing laws, rules and regs and that she could prosicute me but she isn't saying what laws i have broken.

Now i want her out of my house and need to serve her with the section 21 but someone has said i need to give her back her deposit before i can do this. is this true and what if she trashes the house after? her agreement ended on may 14th 2012 so do i give her the 2mths until 14th of ???

i have not got the money to have to pay her 3x the deposit but i will borrow it just to see the back of her but apart from that does anyone know what else i will have to pay along the way. I know the fee is £175 but what about her costs? she works and have a good job where the onlt income i have is the £450 pcm off her when she pays it.

any help is very much appreciated, thank you very much.