Being chased for unauthorised works ten months later!

Puflet

Hi! First time poster here!

Briefly, I've been letting out my property since October 2011, with an agent on a full management basis. They gave me a list of things which needed to be supplied, e.g. Gas Safety Certificate, EPC, all the rest. Where I could get these done more cheaply than the costs that they were offering, I did. I hired my own gasfitter to do the gas safety check, I supplied them with the certificate last September, they sorted out tenants and I didn't give it a second thought.

Then today I received an invoice dated September 2011 with an angry letter from a heating company I've never heard of, saying that they'd been hired to do the gas safety check by my agents, that they'd been chasing the agents to no avail and that they had now been advised to chase me direct as they no longer manage the property. (After the initial tenancy agreement, a central office handles all the day-to-day management and I guess this is what they were referring to)

I am not at all happy about my current address being passed on without my permission. I responded via email to the heating company to the effect that I'd hired my own gasfitter to do the check, that they should not have been instructed to access the property and that I was contacting the managing agent for documentary proof that the work had been carried out by someone else. I've also emailed my contacts at both the office which handles the marketing of the property and initial tenancy agreement, and the one which handles the day to day stuff, asking for a copy of the gas safety certificate which I assume also carries out the name of the company which carried it out.