Good letting agent?

KJ1974

Hi! <waves at everyone> smile.gif

Clueless newbie here- I've just been browsing the site and have a question...

My partner and I own a property which we'd like to rent out fairly soon. He works full-time and I'm currently on maternity leave, so between us we have very little time to spare. I could possibly manage the property myself next year, but need help with A: finding a decent tenant, and B: all the initial paperwork!

Is there such a thing as a good letting agent that don't cost the earth, or are they rarer than hens teeth?? Having read some of the comments on here, I'm worried it maybe the latter?!

Thank you for you comments in advance!

KJ

This might help you......

The most important thing that any potential landlord can do is

choose their tenants very very carefully.

1. Get Referencies.....bank, employer and previouslandlord.

2. Take out rent guarantee insurance.....its not expensive.

3. Get a home owning guarantor. Carry out reference checks on the guarantor.Give the guarantor a copy of the AST. Make sure the guarantor document is drawnup as a deed.

4. Don't let to people with pets or children......the risk of them giving youproblems are big.

5. Don’t let to anyone under 18(minors). Draw up your own limits….I prefer nobody under 25.

6. Don't let to smokers........you won't get rid of the smell.

7. Don’t do Company lets.

8. Don’t let to anyone on Housing Benefits.

8a. If you do choose to let to applicants onHousing Benefit CHECK that your mortgage & freeholder (if your property isleasehold) allows it.

9. Don't let to anyone who isn't working full time.

10. Inspect properties every 3 months.

11. Only let initially on a 6 month AST.....that way you can both part companyafter 6 months if you don't get on.

12. Use a reputable Lettings Agent OR one who has been recommended OR do ityourself (only if you know what to do).