Housing benefit tenants - one of the down sides

davidgreen6

I have been letting out my own properties now for 16 years. During that time I have had a mixture of tenants, both working and claiming housing benefit. In the last few years however the balance of prospective tenants has weighted more to those claiming housing benefit. In general these tenants have been perfectly satisfactory with the majority of the rent payments being paid direct by the council, however last month I had two non payments and when I enquired I was advised that the tenants had notified the council of a change of address. Neither had bothered to notify the landlord. In one case I knew full well that the notification was false as I had been working at the property and witnessed that he had been living there although when I confronted him he actually moved out that day, entirely on his own volition. In the other case it transpired that the tenant had notified the council of the change of address some three weeks earlier and that she had moved out 29 days prior to the notification to the council (7 weeks before the landlord knew that the house was apparently empty raising the prospect of the council claiming back allegedly overpaid benefit). Housing benefit rules allow a tenant 28 days to notify a change of address! As will be obvious here the tenant has not returned the keys presenting a further complication involving the laws on abandonment. My purpose in raising this matter in the forum is to share this experience with others who may have similar experiences and how it was dealt with.

I deal with it by not letting to HB tenants. Never have, never will.......although I did have one tenant who claimed HB for a short while......now he's back at work.