Rent arrears/ access for Gas Inspection

medazaland

Im a letting agent based in the North West of England. Im struggling with a tenant who is over 2 months in arrears with the rent.

Am i correct in firstly issuing a Scetion 8 notice requesting the tenant leave the property. Dont really want to go down the legal route if we can help it. A court order would be the next procedure after the 2 week notice expires.

Option 2 would be a Section 21 notice which would expire next February.

I dont seem to be able to get access to carry out the Annual Gas safety inspection, despite over a month of trying? Any advice?

Problems have stemmed from the local authority forwarding rent direct to the tenant rather than myself, despite a letter being forwarded along with their housing benefit application. The letter was from the local councils housing office who look after homeless people. I am part of the Landlords Charter so the tenant was introduced by the local authority.

Hi Glenda,

If your tenant is 8 weeks in arrears with their rent and they are claiming housing benefit then you can DEMAND that the local council make all future payments directly to you (as landlord). Call the council and ask that all benefit payments are suspended to your tenant and insist that all future Housing Benefit payments are made to you.

At the same time, tell the Council that you are concerned for the safety of the tenant as they will not allow you access to perform the annual landlord's gas safety inspection. I would suggest you get the local housing officer involved and ask him/her to come with you to a "council of war" meeting with the tenant.

Regarding Section 8 and Section 21 notices - I am astonished that you are a letting agent and you are posting questions (on this forum) relating to what notices you should use. Landlords use letting agents because of their expertise in the understanding of tenancy laws .... !!