What do I do if my tenants want to run a B&B from my property?

Sekangel

What do I do if my tenants want to run a B&B from my property?

My new tenants have recently requested to use the large house I'm letting to them as a B&B. I would like to be able to allow them to do this but I'm hoping for some advice.

a) Seeing as I'm renting the house to them very cheaply I feel I should get more of a profit seeing as they're making money from my property. Should this be done by increasing their rent? If so, by what kind of percentage? Or should this be done by asking for a percentage of the profit? If so, what kind of percentage? Or is there any other method I have not thought about?

B) Are there other things I should do? (Insurance, tax, informing my Mortgage company). Or is everything else my tenants responisibility?

I'm very new to all this so any help you could give me would be highly beneficial!

Many Thanks!

You have a mortgage on the property and I very much doubt the lender would allow it.

Building insurance, you would have a Landlords policy, once again I doubt it would be covered under a standard policy.

You are probably missing the point though, why don't you let the property as a HMO and fill the rooms yourself, this is the way to maximise the properties potential.

Bottom line for me is NO, they are taking liberties with your obvious good nature and inexperience, if you allow it - it could come back and bite you very hard.

Just my opinion.

cheers

Selkirk

Absolutely not!

Business rates, Mortgage increases, Insurance for commercial property, water rates, the list goes on and on.

There would have to be a whole new contract for your rent payment as well on a commercial basis for remuneration.

The answer should be a big fat NO... in a nice way of course.

Mel.

Hi Sekangel,