Obtaining CCJ

Super_c00k

Hi all,  Newbie here.  Looking to take out a CCJ against tenant who has done a runner owing rent, etc etc.  No forwarding address but know where she works.  Can notice be served at her work address?  Also, although we operate 100% legally (paying tax/accounts done etc) we do not have a business name, so when completing the online CCJ claim form do we register as a business or individuals?  Thanks in advance for any advice - hoping to avoid solicitors fees on top of everything else it's costing us to get the place rentable again!

You register as individuals and in the same name as named as the landlord on the tenancy agreement. Dont forget you have to send a correctly worded "letter before action" to the tenant prior to starting the on-line claim.

Check your tenancy agreement as it may state that notices can be served at the last known address..

Also why not turn detective and follow her home from work or use one of the internet sites to find her address such as find a monkey. https://findermonkey.co.uk/tenant-tracing

Once you get the CCJ you then can apply for an attachment of earnings at her work place

My worry is that she still might have a live tenancy.  Did she announce that she was leaving and give notice? If not a Section 8 possession case will get you a legal possession order and an order for the debt (CCJ)

Was there a deposit and was it protected etc.?

You can serve papers to the last known address as it takes a few weeks for a new paper trail to be established and that will be accepted by the county court.