PRS and BTL dissertation discussion group - Idea

Diss_JAK91

Hello everyone,

I am a student on an MSc property related course at Sheffield Hallam University - currently undertaking a dissertation on the Private Rented Sector and more specifically, the Residential Buy-to-let market.

A bit of background - I am potentially looking to make an investment in the Private Rented Sector in the not too distant future and thought that this was a great opportunity to gain a better understanding of the market and some opinions of those with experience in the sector.

My idea is to collect data through setting up an online forum on the residential landlord site at the same time as interviewing around half a dozen local landlords.

Over the next few weeks I will post a series of questions which create a discussion amongst site members, including myself.

Hopefully the result will be a collection of purely qualitative data which would provide a fantastic opportunity to develop my dissertation.

- Motivations for entering the PRS?
- Preferred types of property to add to your portfolio?
- Individuals perception of the property market at the moment, and future predictions?
- Issues surrounding standard of maintenance etc.
- Preferred types of tenants,
- How students affect the B-T-L market

and so forth...

Of course, any comments made on the thread will be kept anonymous and used for research purposes only. This will be made clear at the start of the thread. When reporting, to distinguish I will classify contributors as Participant One, Participant Two etc.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could reply with your thoughts on the idea and whether or not you may like to be involved? Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

If there are any questions or topics other users wish to include in this thread relating to the subject I would more than welcome them and value each response given. The more the merrier!

I look forward to hearing from you all,

Many thanks

J.