Smokers.

Harry Fisher

I am new to this game but have recently bought a house to refurbish and let in the near future, the place stinks because the owners who had it for 20 years were smokers and Cat owners.

After I have done all the work I don't want the house to return to that state, is it worthwhile stipulating non smokers and no pets when letting, or would it seriously limit my chances of getting a tenant, I am also going to insist on tenants who are in employment?

YES......Here's my tenant criteria list

TENANT SELECTION CRITERIA

Applications from the following people are not acceptable under any circumstances

• Smokers.

• Pet owners (specifically dogs, cats or reptiles).

• Non English speakers.

• Those with resident children.

• Anyone in receipt of housing benefit or LHA.

• Those wanting Company lettings.

• Any letting that would results in overcrowding (eg parents with children in a 1 bedroom flat).

• Anyone running a business or commercial operation directly from the property.

• Applicants who have long lead times to moving in.

Applications from the following people will depend on circumstances

• Non working tenants…..including part time workers, unemployed, those looking for work, university students with/ without working partner are each considered on their own merits.

• Non resident children…..eg single, divorced, separated parent who looks after a child every other weekend may be OK. Would depend primarily on age of children.

• Lettings for less than 6 months…..normally requires higher rent to cover fixed costs.

• Poor references or no references or don’t qualify for RGI…..may require a home owning guarantor or rent period in advance.

• Age under 25......depends on the person, circumstances, maturity, job etc.

Some other considerations

* Same sex couples....in my experience it often ends in tears before the end of the fixed term of the AST.