Tenancy agreement (through the Estate agent) to a private one

Mitul

Hello,

I would be very greatful if you could help me, i'm in a bit of tight spot.

I purchased a property last year which i intended to put on rent, i thought seeing as i am new to the property market i would go through an estate agent in the first year. So the agent found tenants which i was happy with and now it is coming up to the end of the tenancy agreement (12 month period).

As you know estate agent fees are ridculously high and don't reflect the work that they actually do. I was very happy with the tenant that the agent found and wanted him to continue, BUT not going through the agent, i wanted to draw up a private tenancy agreement.

Now i was told by my agent that if the tenant chooses to stay that i would have to pay another set of fees for the new contract.

I was under the impression that all i would have to do is to get the tenant to terminate the contract (the one drawn up by the agent). Then i could start a new fixed contract with the tenant (this time not going through the agent and thus not having to pay the fees)

Is this the right course of action to take, all i want to basically do is remove the agent from the scenario and continue to let the property to my existing tenant.

If the tenant terminates the contract, which gives the impresion that they will be leaving the property (but really intend to stay and start a new private contract with me) can the agent do anything to stop this?

thank you for your help

Some Agents charge a finders fee only.......and that's that.

Your Agent is charging you a finders fee and hoping to cash-in on a future Tenancy Extension which Letting Agents do.

It is a rip off but unfortunately a lot of Letting Agents do not advise Landlords of this double whammy that is going to hit them.