Worried-am I doing the right thing by renting?

Sand

Hi

I have post some questions onto another forum and given basic info such as:

House worth £182,000

I have inherited 50%

Getting mortgage for £90000 to buy other half out

Rent pm £850

Somebody pointed out that this is not a great yeild therefore perhaps not good to do.

I really thought that this is a great investment as mortgage would by around £239pm. If I didnt I would sell the house and do what with the money. To help my husband is a carpenter and i am an accountant so know a fair amount of what to do but not actually qualified in this field.

I would really appreciate any help as feel i may be being naive here.

Thanks

Mortgage £90K with repayments of £239 per month and assuming interest only = an interest rate of 3.18 %

Is this a BTL mortgage ?

Who is offering such a product ?

What is the mortgage arrangement fee ?

Mortgage £90K with repayments of £239 per month and assuming interest only = an interest rate of 3.18 %

Is this a BTL mortgage ?

Who is offering such a product ?

What is the mortgage arrangement fee ?

Sorry I should have put £291 (3.89%) arrangement fee on this BTL is £285 which I think brilliant considering everything else out there, plus its free valulation and surveys as considered as a remortgage.

Hi,

So you are going to earn a rental income of £10,200 per annum against an asset worth £182,000 - which means you have a yield of 5.6%. Not too bad against a bank base rate of 0.5% ......

However ... another way of looking at this is ...... you are personally investing £90,000 and you are borrowing the rest (ie: £92,000) ..... so you actually INVESTMENT is £90,000 against a £10,200 rental yield .... give you a return of 11.33%.

Whichever way you look at it ..... and whichever way you calculate it ....... you will struggle to find a 5.6% yield by putting your money in a bank or building society ..... and ... you also get the long term capital growth as well.