Section 8 Notices

Amy86

I have a property that I have been letting out now for several years with a few different tenants. We had a new tenant move in on the 1st of March this year, and I have only had one rental payment since then. The tenant signed a 6 month assured shorthold tenancy. It is my intention to serve a section 8 notice, although having done some research we are unsure of the correct procedure, and I have become concerned about what I have read and ensuring that we serve it correctly. Any advice would be a great help.

From the information I have required, this is the procedure we intend to follow:

*serve a section 8 notice, what is the prescribed period for this? does the notice resemble a section 21 notice? Are there any specific details which must be included in order for it to be valid? Any ideas where the best place I will get a template for this?

I understand that there must be grounds for possession within the fixed period which we definitely have covered.

*if the tenant does not leave within the time serve an accelerated possession order from the courts?

Many Thanks for any productive comments

You need to use grounds 8, 10 & 11.

Make sure the S8 notice you use states what the grounds relate to.

You give 14 days notice for court proceeding on the notice but add an extra 3 for the postage system.

Post 2 copies, one by recorded and one with proof of postage.

Include an up todate clear spreadsheet showing the arrears.

Make sure any deposit taken is protected correctly otherwise they could counterclaim and bring the arrears owed below 2 months.

After the 14+3 days apply for a court hearing which you will have to attend. It is quicker to do it on line. https://www.possessionclaim.gov.uk/pcol/HomePage.do

Also serve a s21 as back up just in case using the same method as above.

The downside of Section 8 is if there is any disrepair at the property - is there? Section 21 guarantees you possession but takes longer.