problem gaining access to property

oscar

Ive been letting my flat via an agency for 3 years with no problems until now. I had a fire in Feb and needed major cleaning and redecoration work done (all covered by my insurance). I hadn't inspected my flat until that time as I naively thought the agents would take care of that . Concerned by the condition of the flat - filthy , cracked window , cats urine in bathroom , I gave the tenants notice to leave when thier agreement runs out in October (via the agency) along with a nicely worded letter detailing my concerns so that everything could be put right before I get the property back .

There is still some outstanding insurance work to be done and I now have 2 companies needing to make appointments to do the work . My problem is that since I gave notice my tenants wont allow me or said workmen access to my flat . I know I can enter to inspect giving 24hrs notice (my contract says 96hrs- is this legal?) , but I cant enter if they are not in . Also , I dont want to inspect as such , I want these workmen to have access to do their job. Am I allowed to give notice and turn up anyway even if they say no? Am I allowed to tell the agency to allow me access? And am I allowed in even if they are out , as this is ongoing work? They didnt have any problem allowing access to myself or workmen until I gave them notice.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Hi Oscar,

Your right of access, from a legal perspective, will be defined in the tenancy agreement. It should state how much notice you need to give to gain access and may also state whether the tenant has the right to refuse access (assuming the appropriate notices have been given).

This - in my opinion - is not a legal issue though - it is a relationship issue between the landlord and the tenant.

The tenants are upset because you have served notice on them and are now being ackward re: letting you have access to your proerty.