Regulated tenant

George80

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the lettings game and have just purchased a property at auction with a regulated tenant in it (I can hear the sharp intake of breath and shaking of heads from the experienced landlords reading this!).

It is transpiring that this may not have been the best of my purchases thus far, as I am unable to re-mortgage the property and therefore have all my cash tied up in it.

I did take advice from my mortgage broker before the purchase and he, after some research, believed that i would be able to re-finance the propety. However it now seems that this is not the case.

I really do need to get some money back on this place or sell it quickly. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

I could obviously put it straight back to auction, but I fear I may lose out on the sale price as people will assume that there is something wrong with the property or that I am short of cash and either way they'll keep the bids low.

Are there any investment companies out there that would look to purchase such a property? The ROI is reasonable at 4.5%, with another chance to hike the rent early next year.

Any advice, contacts, pointers or even a telling off for being stupid would be helpful.

Hi George,

Why is the property not remortgageable? If the ROI is 4.5% I would assume it could be interesting to several investors, unless the property has something wrong with it. But if you cannot get a mortgage on it, does that mean you need a cash buyer for it? Or could you just put it for sale on the regular market?

Kim

Hi George,

I have two secure tenants, one who is reasonable, and one who knows that the law is in favour of the tenant, not the landlord.

I do not think a remortgage would be out of the question, but you may need to trawl the market to find a financier.

My advice is to treat secure and assured tenants alike, fairly, but keep a log of lack of access, damage to property, clear rent accounts to prove rent arrears.