smoke alarms

liz

As a first time landlord with a first property I've just had an electrician come round to check out the house and he tells me that I've GOT to have two smoke alarms fitted (wired in to the electrics). I can find no mention of this legislation on the web. Have any got any advice please?

bit of a grey area, liz.

if its being rewired or a new build, yes you should have interlinked mains with battery back up smoke alarms. they arnt expensive, about £15 each but its the interlinking that can be a headache. if not, you could put battery ones in but you then would be responsible for them, ie making sure the batteries are changed every year, if your tenant puts them in they are responsible.

ask the spark how much for fitting them and possibly speak to your local building control to see if they state they are necessary. the requirments differ from one council to the next.

personally if the cost isnt to expensive (bit different in my case as i am an electrical installer), i would fit them. may stop your flat/house burning down with the tenants asleep in bed one day B) .

russ

2 smoke alarms are required. They do not have to be wired in on Old Build houses.

You will find that very few Tenants replace the batteries so you will need to check this out on your inspection tours at some point.

This is one instance when I feel that the landlord should not be concerning themselves about what is/isn't compulsory. Remember at the end of the day it is YOUR property and YOUR investment that may go up in a puff of smoke. The batterries in smoke alarms easily last 1yr so is it really worth skimping on this? Of course there is nothing to stop the tenant nicking the battery when their child's toy goes flat, but if that really worries you then go for it being linked electrically. Do you have smoke alarms in your own house?

As I understand it it is a legal requirement to have 2 smoke alarms in the property.