HELP WITH TWO CLAUSES IN TENANCY AGREEMENT

SMILE

<_<

Hi all,

Hope everyone is having a better day than me :)

Oh well, here goes I'm still in the middle of trying to understand a company let agreement that I will be signing shortly if I'm happy with it all and of course understand what I'm signing....I'm very new to this game !

I will be asking my managing agent to answer some queries ...but would just like some expert advice from my fellow more experienced landlords ! - those that truly care !!!! and probably know exactly how I am feeling right now....!!!

Please can anyone explain to me what the following two clauses mean in VERY SIMPLY ENGLISH...I'm confused !

1) In this Agreement unless the context otherwise requires the following expressions shall have the following meanings :

"THE LANDLORD" includes the persons for the time being entitled to the reversion expectant on determination of the tenancy.

"THE TENANT" includes the successors in title

2) The Landlord agrees with the Tenant that :

i) The Landlord will return to the Tenant any Rent payable for any period during which the property may have been rendered uninhabitable by fire or any other risk which the landlord has insured .....

I can sort of understand this clause, but surely it would be different if the property fire was because of the tenant's negligence ???? Do you think I should request an extra clause to be added to this to protect me ? I hope to be covered for fire but I understand that they only pay a percentage of the rental lost due to fire and I always thought that money went to the landlord.....??? HELP....I've had v little sleep trying to sort this out and my brain is totally boggled at the moment....!!!

I would really appreciate your advice regarding this matter...ANYONE <_<

Very Simple English (I hope)!

1) Unless we say otherwise this is what we mean:

'The Landlord' is the bloke that would get the keys back if the tenancy stopped today.