Housing Benefit Deposit

lesley mcmillan

Hi all

What would you do?

I am fairly new to this, I have one buy to let at the moment which has been problem/stress free for the last 12 months with a great tennant.

I have just purchased another property and invited applications from Housing support/local housing allowence. I have one very interested applicant who can give me the deposit but not the month in advance as she states because she will be getting housing benifit/local housing allowence, She can not afford the deposit and the month in advance. She thinks they will send the first cheque to me, but it can take up to 6 weeks for this to happen. I feel a bit concerned, she will be in my property rent free until this comes through. Would you stick by your guns and only except a tenant who can give both on day of entry.

How would I go about getting a credit check done on potential tennants.

Thanks again, your a helpful bunch.

Hi all

What would you do?

I am fairly new to this, I have one buy to let at the moment which has been problem/stress free for the last 12 months with a great tennant.

I have just purchased another property and invited applications from Housing support/local housing allowence. I have one very interested applicant who can give me the deposit but not the month in advance as she states because she will be getting housing benifit/local housing allowence, She can not afford the deposit and the month in advance. She thinks they will send the first cheque to me, but it can take up to 6 weeks for this to happen. I feel a bit concerned, she will be in my property rent free until this comes through. Would you stick by your guns and only except a tenant who can give both on day of entry.

How would I go about getting a credit check done on potential tennants.

Thanks again, your a helpful bunch.