complete beginner

nora newbie

hi all, have started on the slippery slope to being a landlord.

I am this week having property completely redecorated in magnolia as former person was heavy smoker, am having it cleaned, and have tried to do my best with the garden.

I am going with an agent to manage it. After reading a few horror stories about what tennants get up to I am keeping my fingers crossed that I get good tennants.

just thought i would say hi as I may need some knowledge a bit further down the line

I am going with an agent to manage it. After reading a few horror stories about what tennants get up to I am keeping my fingers crossed that I get good tennants.

just thought i would say hi as I may need some knowledge a bit further down the line

You shouldn't NEED to keep your fingers crossed. Its your property so its you that should be making the decisions and setting the criteria of what tenants you require. Just because you are using an agent doesn't mean you have to pass all the decision making onto them.........thats probably the worst thing you could do.

Here's my checklist....The most important thing that any potential landlord can do ischoose their tenants very very carefully.

1. Get Referencies.....bank, employer and previouslandlord.

2. Take out rent guarantee insurance.....its not expensive.

3. Get a home owning guarantor. Carry out reference checks on the guarantor.Give the guarantor a copy of the AST. Make sure the guarantor document is drawnup as a deed.

4. Don't let to people with pets or children......the risk of them giving youproblems are big.

5. Don’t let to anyone under 18(minors). Draw up your own limits….I prefer nobody under 25.

6. Don't let to smokers........you won't get rid of the smell.

7. Don’t do Company lets.

8. Don’t let to anyone on Housing Benefits.

8a. If you do choose to let to applicants onHousing Benefit CHECK that your mortgage & freeholder (if your property isleasehold) allows it.