Managing own property

scrappee

Hi, a newbie here.

Would you give me your opinion as to the advantages of having a letting agent 'manage' a property and a rough guide as to how much the average cost is for this service please?

The property is a small two bed apartment in a reasonable area.

I am concerned that if a job needs to be done the agent will perhaps add their own costs to employ a plumber or electrician or I will end up paying over the odds for any jobs done - your experience would be very helpful thanks.

With just one rental property I believe an agent will charge between 10-15% (+VAT) for 'full' management. Obviously this could be negotiated lower if there were a number of properties placed with the same agent. I guess different agents definition of 'full' management will vary so, its important to ensure that the contract between the landlord and the agent clearly identifies what aspects of managing the property are included.

Its best to select an agent based on recommendation and one that has membership of a professional body.

Most agents will add their admin' fee when arranging repairs and compared with doing any aspect of managing the property yourself you will be paying 'over the odds' using an agent.

You need to check that the agent will......find suitable tenants (to your specification), take references, arrange rent guarantee insurance & or a guarantor, deal with deposit protection, check in & check out inventories, gas & electric checks, EPC & any other legal requirements, regular inspections & reports to you on condition, arrange standing order payments from tenant/ collecting rents, arrange contracts & renewals, deal with repairs, deal with minor queries/ disputes.

You will also need to understand what is NOT included in the agents fees such as eviction, issuing formal notices etc.

You should also understand what charges will be levied on any AST renewal.