Anybody Else Buying to Let?

Melboy

I am NOT buying any more property! I will sell a couple off over a period of years for tax purposes and lower myself gently into retirement mode for a long holiday away from tenents and associated problems of running a small landlord / renovation type property business which I have been doing now for 20 years.........Yeah! Right!!

OK I got bored.....my main love is renovation of property. I love the challenge of turning a run down flea-pit into something nice and homely but I always make the developer's mistake of liking what I have done so much I can't sell the property on. Well, I say mistake but thank God I did keep my renovated properties back to rent out in the early 90's because nobody saw the huge rise in property values coming and being human I sold some off at the peak prices over a five year period as a reward pension for all my long hours of hard graft back in the early years.

So, when a good EA friend of mine offered me a very nice 1 bed house, quality built in a good location at a reasonable price but requiring renovation work and of course I made the mistake, despite protests from me, of going to look at it and that was that......2 weeks later and I now own the place.

Oh! Well! it will keep me out of mischief for a couple of months. What am I going to do with it? Don't know but as a B&Q anorak (other DIY sheds are available) I shall amuse myself with the project and as a semi-retired tradesman I shall enjoy blowing the dust of my tools.

Mel.

I also had the same conversation with myself April 2009 when I bought a ramshackle, empty, run down, decaying high Edwardian stlye lump that no one else would touch - well it was attached to a 1 bed house I had owned for 25 years.

It was a case of starting with the roof and working down - to the cellar. 18 months on and £30K poorer I have a big family maisonette and a 2bed, 2 bath GGF out of it. The cellar was absorbed into the one bed house and makes unique accommodation.