Agent legally oblidged to be given deposit?

fredthelandlord

Hello,

I'm a newbie here, have been a long time lurker and read with interest the good advice you peeps offer every day however as a landlord myself I could now do with some advice myself so apologies if this has been answered before/the long post.

I have a property I let and for the first time have employed a letting agent to find me a tenant (me to manage) which they have now done. I am a member of the deposit protection scheme and will put the deposit in that scheme. The agent is telling me it is illegal for the deposit to be issued directly to me and must go through them. Its not really a problem at the end of the day, they (the agent) will pay it into my DPS account anyway (or that's what they tell me). Frankly I trust letting agents as far as I can throw them and cannot see why they must have the deposit and not me? Is there such a law in place or is the agent trying it on?

Regards

Freddy

There shouldn't be any problem with the LA putting the deposit into a DPS scheme but insist on a copy of the deposit paperwork for your records.

Yes, it has happened whereby Landlords were assured of the deposit going into the DPS by the LA and of course it transpires it hasn't and the LA has gone bust and the Landlord, yes, the Landlord has to repay the deposit to the tenant because of the defaulting LA.

Recent court case and judgement on that scenario.

Mel.

Yes that is a load of cobblers as you so eloquently put it Freddy.

I always use the DPS and like you I sometimes use a letting agent as a tenant finder they always let me place the deposit with the holder. The agent always insists on cash from the tenants or allows a cheque to clear before writing me a cheque for the whole lot minus agent's commission. I place the deposit and advise the tenants how to look at it online. End of story.