I don't want to keep paying for new gas appliances

SJFreeman

I am a Gas Safe Registered plumber living in Rochester, Kent. I cover Swale, the Medway towns and Maidstone and in recent months have had numerous calls from landlords who have been told that they need new appliances, usually combination boilers. They call asking for quotes for boiler replacements and when i arrive 9 out of 10 times the boiler can be repaired, occasionally without the need to even buy parts.

My advice to any landlord being told they need a new appliance, especially if it is not that old would be to ask for a second opinion, and if possible ask for references from past clients.

Thanks for that SJ. I hope you are not advertising for work?

I am not a plumber but have a fair amount of combi boilers to keep certified safe.

Luckily my regular gas safe person is a bit of a 'boiler anorak' and will happily do repairs but he says that if a boiler is over 10 years old you may as well get a new one. A new one will also be a lot more fuel efficient and hopefully not break down.

There is no doubt that plumbers make more money on supply and fit of a new boiler so maybe that is why you get so many landlords asking for quotes - because they are shocked at the price!

Mortitia

• 2 weeks later...