New Landlord

WINNYBACH

I am a teacher and have a property which was empty and uninhabitable for many years. I had some renovations done with the intention of either moving back there myself or selling eventually. I did not intend to rent it out. However my niece and her family had to vacate their flat because they bought a dog and so I let them move in several months ago. It was only supposed to be a temp move but it has become longer term so I have become an accidental landlord. They have been paying me rent which totals about £4k before allowable deductions and I certainly intend to pay tax on this but I don't know how to go about it. Can I just register and do an online assessment? If so do I use the tax code that is on my teacher salary slips? Any advice would be appreciated as I really am useless with tax etc.

I am a teacher and have a property which was empty and uninhabitable for many years. I had some renovations done with the intention of either moving back there myself or selling eventually. I did not intend to rent it out. However my niece and her family had to vacate their flat because they bought a dog and so I let them move in several months ago. It was only supposed to be a temp move but it has become longer term so I have become an accidental landlord. They have been paying me rent which totals about £4k before allowable deductions and I certainly intend to pay tax on this but I don't know how to go about it. Can I just register and do an online assessment? If so do I use the tax code that is on my teacher salary slips? Any advice would be appreciated as I really am useless with tax etc.

I wish I could clarify this for you - but I use an accountant.

However, I have posted because I think there may be some laws you might not know about.

Did you take any sort of deposit off your niece? If so, you need to lodge that with a scheme like the DPS - it's the law.

Are there any gas appliances? You need an annual gas safety check + certificate.