Energy bills - rent increase vs controls

Nathalie

Hi,

Earlier this year I posted a topic about receiving ridiculously high energy bills where tenants had clearly made no effort to use heating and electricity appropriately. Well I recently wrote a letter to all my tenants proposing what I was going to do about this problem and in short I said:

1 - I would not impose controls so people could enjoy the heating how they wish (from experience controls haven't worked well and leave many people feeling cold even if set at 21c)

2 - but they would have to start taking responsibility for their usage and as such I will be increasing their rent in January and from now on I will do an annual review of their rent and even decrease rents where costs have gone down (supposed to be an incentive!)

So far we have rarely increased rents for existing tenants, in fact only once in the last 10 years that I know of (I have been managing the properties myself for 2 years and therefore the older tenants have got comfortable with not having received increases in the past). I have received support for the proposal by one tenant (who is fairly new) and two complaints by older tenants who are obviously comfortable not having had rent increases and don't like the sound of them now. One of them says they barely use the heating and shouldn't have to pay for others. I haven't had any comments from the rest which is the majority.