Advice Please??? :o/

geordie100

Please help, any advice is appreciated.

I have recently bought and refurbished my first property, it was a complete mess and has been gutted and refurbed head to toe, the difficult bit is done i thought!!!

However, i am now finding the beurocracy surrounding the whole landlord business a little mind boggling as i am new to this!! I have an interested tenant, who incidentally has been made bankrupt. Also, they have approached me and asked if they can rent privately (Rather than through an agent) Great, i can save a few quid, however that means i have to do everything myself!! (By the way, the prospective tenants first found me via an agent, so i suspect this may be a little naughty!!!!! Can anyone give advice??) They have told me they can get a gaurantor. Who i understand i will need to get referenced and credit checked.

I understand once this is done and if i offer the particular prospective tenants the property i have to register witha TDS (Custodial i believe is best)

I also realise i can download the tenancy agreement from this site along with gaurantor forms. I also realise that for a small fee i can get the gaurantor checked out on a credit check website.....

I know it is wise to carry out an inventory prior to them moving in???

The bottom line is, have i covered all bases or is there anything else i need to be wary of?? Please please please somebody help me ;))

Hi Geordie,

Some of this was covered in a recent post ( read CH1, me and others) on 'Letting without an agent' further down the topic page and I'm sure others will add to what I think.

Personally, for a first let on your pride and joy property I might use the agent and not go for a bankrupt. But if you want to have a go or just do this as an exercise this is my format. Ask these things of your proposed tenants, yes it is paperwork but essential -