mismanagement by letting agents

parse

I have been renting out a property through a letting agent for just over 2 years, as it is the first time I have ventured into this business for the first year I subscribed to their guaranteed rent scheme, opting out once I felt confident enough that my tennants were reliable.

As my tennants appeared to be reliable I felt that I was paying the agents simply to collect my rent for which they were taking a nice fee, I spoke to the tennants and explained my feelings and the agent agreed and advised me that he could see no reason to have problems and offered to draw up a contract for another handsome fee which I declined. So I submitted a written notice to withdraw my property from their management when our agreement ended on May 31st.

On Friday May 3rd shortly after tendering my notice I received a letter from the agent informing me tat as my tennants had not paid their rent for May I would not be receiving payment in the usuall manner until payment was made to them I was obviously concerned and contacted the agent to enquire what was their policy in this situation.

After several phone conversations with the agent getting different reports each time it became clear that the tennants were in fact 3 months in arrears due to one reason or another, I asked why I wasn't made aware of this and the agent said an internal decision had been made to continue to pay me and to allow the tennants to pay arrears " a little at a time ". I argued that I would not have withdrawn from their service if I had known this and that I was being placed in a situation where I was taking on tennants with rent arrears. The agent has since informed my tennant that they are keeping their deposit to cover arrears and that they should arrange a loan to pay May's rent which is still owed and that they should negotiate terms with me which would enable them to build up a deposit gradually when I take over managing the let.